top of page


Updated Sean McLean Origin Advocacy Headshot.heic

Sean McLean

Founder & Principal

Washington, D.C.


ean McLean is the Founder & Principal of Origin Advocacy and has 15 years of political and policy experience, which includes key roles in the Executive and Legislative branches of government.

During his time in government, Sean authored and successfully secured the enactment of bipartisan legislation that was signed into law by President Barack Obama, President Donald J. Trump, and the D.C. City Council.


Sean’s experience in government began by serving U.S. Senator Marsha Blackburn during her service in the U.S. House of Representatives, where he spearheaded legislative and oversight activities before the U.S. House Energy and Commerce Committee, which oversees regulated industries such as telecommunications, technology, energy, environment and healthcare. He was later promoted to the position of Legislative Director in which he managed the legislative team and policy initiatives.


Sean next served on the legislative staff of U.S. Senator Ted Cruz where he advised Senator Cruz and established his agenda on policy and oversight matters before the U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, & Transportation. In addition, he managed Senator Cruz’s responsibilities as Chairman of the Subcommittee on Space, Science and Competitiveness where he directed hearings and the legislative and oversight agenda for the subcommittee. Sean was subsequently promoted to Legislative Director where he oversaw the senator’s legislative team, all committee assignments, monitored all legislative items and nominations on the floor of the U.S. Senate, and coordinated efforts to advance the senator’s legislative priorities.


Upon leaving Congress, Sean served at the U.S. Department of Commerce and in the White House. In these roles he advanced the Administration’s policy and personnel priorities in coordination with over 30 federal departments, agencies, and commissions, including the U.S. Department of Commerce, U.S. Department of Treasury, U.S. Department of Transportation, Small Business Administration, Council of Economic Advisers, USTR, NASA, U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, Federal Reserve Board of Governors, Export-Import Bank of the United States, Federal Communications Commission, Federal Trade Commission, Commodity Future Trading Commission, and others.


  • The White House

  • U.S. Department of Commerce 

  • U.S. Senate 

  • U.S. House of Representatives 


  • Christian Brothers University

bottom of page